IT@Home: Personal Sitebar server integration with IE

Recently I started using Sitebar server on my Ubuntu box to centrally manage my bookmarks. I prefer this option over using my.sitebar.org hosted option. The server was fairly easy to deploy and install and setup of the extension for Firefox to use my personal Sitebar server instead of my.sitebar.org was quite straightforward. However when it came to IE on my XP laptop it seems the Sitebar addon for IE does not give you the option to change the Sitebar server location from my.sitebar.org. The easy way to get around that is to open up regedit, assuming you have registry modification privilege. Then search for the my.sitebar.org string in the registry parameter values. If your home Sitebar server is accessed as my.homeserver.org/sbar/ then replace the “my.sitebar.org” with this string in all of the occurrences.

Leave a comment

Filed under IT management

Leave a Reply

